Final thoughts before leaving Mars

Our last day was a great one. Micah and I split up to maximize the diversity and amount of footage that we could acquire. He rolled around with Clay gathering the last bits and pieces that we needed while I spent the day roaming around the country with Moses. We traveled to one of the many churches to bring disaster relief (one of the areas affected by flooding) and the Gospel. When it was all said and done, about 100 or so wanted to be baptised. Moses surprised me by asking me to help baptize them. I was honored and humbled. One of the top 5 experiences of my life to be honest. In retrospect, I should have brought a change of clothes. Oh well. minor inconvenience is all.

We leave tomorrow at 12:45 in the afternoon. I am going to miss it here despite all of the horror that goes on. I really don’t think that I still even understand the depths of what really happens out here. I realized this about a week ago. Don and Bridget had invited Micah and I to eat lunch with them in the same hall with the girls. As we sat there is slowly dawned on me that these girls really are children. I don’t really know how to describe it. I knew the age range all along but I think that even I had subconsciously dehumanized the girls to emotionally cope with the stories that I heard. I felt sick to my stomach. I wanted to beat the face in of every man who had ever touched them. I still do to be honest. I’ll need to spend some time talking with God about that.

Even with all the good that Agape does (and other NGO’s like IJM), it is not nearly enough. There are known, working brothels that if only one of them were to be raided today, there would not be enough aftercare centers to care for the girls. The global economy is being felt here as well. The price of rat meat (the cheapest meat available) has tripled in the last year or so. A very good NGO’s just had to shut down its after care center for girls who are 18 and older.

I have seen how good can, and does, triumph over evil. I want to be a part of that fight. I feel that it is time for us in the West to actually do something rather than binge out on “awareness.” If we do not get involved, then even Agape’s Restoration Center may be forced to shut its doors. It costs around 100 grand a month to take care of roughly 50 girls. If that sounds like a lot, then wait to watch the documentary. It’s not, and its more than worth the price.

This whole project has been about getting regular people like you and me involved in this fight. I feel the need now more than ever. Don told me a story about one man who fasts all three meals for one day a week and donates the money he would have spent of food to the center. What a great idea! The fields are ready to be harvested. Lets do this!!!

s

PS. Faith without works is dead. I am going to start a page on this site that is dedicated to simple and practical ways to join the fight. Until then, here’s a link to a page where we can donate via paypal.

AIM’s Paypal Account

3 Responses to Final thoughts before leaving Mars

  1. dina says:

    that was my next question:how can i help?
    thanks seth. look forward to hearing the practical ways to kick the butt of the enemy.

  2. Keith says:

    Well done my warrior friends! Get back safely. I pray for the Holy Spirit to inspire you deeply as you assemble your film. I’m sure it will be powerful and I look forward to seeing it.

    Thanks for sharing your adventure!

  3. Kassia says:

    Wow! Great post! I want to help. I also want to hear about everything and see the documentary. If only time would go a little faster!

Leave a Reply

